Bay of Hope: Five Years in Newfoundland

Bay of Hope: Five Years in Newfoundland

Ward, David

$16.99
  • A “come from away” exploring love, loneliness, and adventure in remote Newfoundland

    Part memoir, part nature writing, part love story, Bay of Hope is an occasionally comical, often adversarial, and always emotional story about the five years ecologist David Ward lived in an isolated Newfoundland community; of how he ended up there, worked, survived the elements, and coped with loneliness and a lack of intimacy. But this book is also a story about David’s 78 McCallum, Newfoundland, neighbors, the unforgiving mountain and wilderness culture they call home, and why their government wishes they were dead.

    Creative nonfiction written in the tradition of Farley Mowat’s Bay of Spirits, Ward’s memoir is also evocative of Michael Crummey’s poignant novel Sweetland and Annie Dillard’s Pulitzer Prize-winning Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. A book about how great adventure tales do not always have to include dramatic, never-attempted, death-defying feats, Bay of Hope shows us that a person can travel a million miles over the treacherous terrain within their hearts, as long as they’re courageous enough to make such an arduous trek.

  • While he has had many different jobs, and lived in a large number of places, David Ward currently considers himself a writer/teacher who resides on the Trent-Severn Waterway in Fenelon Falls, Ontario. Author of the award-winning and critically acclaimed The Lost 10 Point Night, David is a former recipient of the Charles E. Pascal Award for Excellence in Teaching.

  • Published: April 2018

    ISBN: 9781770413825

    Dimensions: 5 x 7 in.

    Pages: 264

Reviews

“It's highly descriptive of life [in McCallum], the iconography of the place, and biographies of several of its inhabitants . . . [Ward is] marvellously curious about everything from freshly published books to unexplored highways.” — St. John’s Telegram

“David Ward’s Bay of Hope is what many readers want in a book . . . a many-layered love story.” — The Telegram

“It is obvious right from the opening paragraph that the author has deep feelings and respect for the people there as well as sincere empathy for them as they wrestle with the life-changing decision they have to make regarding ‘resettlement’. . . To say that I enjoyed reading the book is an understatement; I highly recommend it.” — The Northern Pen