The Realms of Ancient Collection by S.M. Beiko, ECW Press

The Realms of Ancient Collection

Beiko, S.M.

  • Discover the intricately plotted, action-packed, animal-based fantasy series that New York Times #1 bestselling author KELLY ARMSTRONG calls “A thrilling tale.”

    Scion of the Fox: The Realms of Ancient, Book 1

    Roan Harken considers herself a typical high school student — dead parents, an infected eyeball, and living in the house of her estranged, currently comatose grandmother (well, maybe not so typical) — but she’s uncovering the depth of the secrets her family left behind. Saved from the grasp of Death itself by a powerful fox spirit named Sil, Roan must harness mysterious ancient power… and quickly. Zabor lies in wait in the bed of the frozen Assiniboine River, a snake-monster hungry for the sacrifice of spirit-blood in exchange for keeping the flood waters at bay. Thrust onto an ancient battlefield, Roan soon realizes that to maintain the balance of the world, she will have to sacrifice more than her life in order to take her place as Scion of the Fox.

    Children of the Bloodlands: The Realms of Ancient, Book 2

    The dazzling second book in S.M. Beiko’s Realms of Ancient series follows Roan and her four friends as they part ways to fight new battles across the globe. A wicked monster called Seela has risen from the ashy Bloodlands and is wreaking havoc on the world while children in Edinburgh are afflicted by a strange plague; Eli travels to Seoul to face judgment and is nearly murdered; Natti endures a taxing journey with two polar bears; Phae tries desperately to obtain the key to the Underworld; and Barton joins a Family-wide coalition as the last defense against an enemy that will stop at nothing to undo Ancient’s influence on Earth — before there is no longer an Earth to fight for.

    Darkness, death, and the ancient powers that shape the world will collide as our heroes discover that some children collapse under their dark inheritance, and those who don’t are haunted by blood.

    The Brilliant Dark: The Realms of Ancient, Book 3

    In the final installment of S.M. Beiko’s thrilling YA fantasy trilogy, Roan Harken must decide if she’s willing to pay the ultimate price to protect the family she’s found. But nothing is ever that simple.

    The Brilliant Dark is the final, thrilling chapter in this series about gods, monsters, and the people who must decide if they’re willing to pay the ultimate price to protect the family they found… in a world that may not be worthy of saving.


    Price may vary by retailer

    Also available at your local independent bookstore!


  • S.M. Beiko is an eclectic writer and artist based in Winnipeg, Manitoba. She also works as a freelance editor, illustrator, and graphic designer. Her first novel, The Lake and the Library, was nominated for the Manitoba Book Award for Best First Book as well as the 2014 Aurora Award. The first novel in this series, Scion of the Fox, won the 2018 Copper Cylinder Award.

  • Published: September 2019

    ISBN: 9781773054308

    Dimensions: x in.

    Pages: 1512