Fifty-Four Pigs: A Dr. Bannerman Vet Mystery

Schott, Philipp

$14.99
  • “A delicious read.” — Iona Whishaw, author of the Lane Winslow mystery series

    For readers of The Thursday Murder Club comes a lighthearted mystery with an incredible sense of place

    A swine barn explodes near a lakeside town, putting veterinarian Dr. Peter Bannerman on a collision course with murder and a startling conspiracy.

    Peter is an odd duck, obsessed with logic and measurable facts, an obsession he puts to good use in his veterinary practice. When a murder is connected to the swine barn explosion and his friend Tom becomes the prime suspect, Peter feels compelled to put his reasoning skills, and his dog Pippin’s remarkable nose, to use to help clear him.

    The situation darkens with a second murder and a series of break-ins, including at Peter’s house and clinic, but Peter has a hard time knowing when he is out of his depth, despite warnings from his brother-in-law Kevin, an RCMP officer.

    Ultimately Peter finds himself out in the middle of a frozen lake during a blizzard, fighting for his life and confronting a horrifying realization he had been blind to all along.

    BUY FROM:

    Price may vary by retailer

    Check availability at your local Canadian independent bookstore:

    Remember that most stores can easily order books they don’t currently have in stock.

    BUY FROM ECW PRESS:

  • Philipp Schott was born in Germany and grew up in Saskatoon. He now lives in Winnipeg, where he practises veterinary medicine, writes, and shares an old house on the Assiniboine River with his wife, two teenagers, three cats, and a dog. His first book, The Accidental Veterinarian, was a bestseller and was translated into four languages. The Willow Wren is his quasi-fictional account of his family before, during, and after World War II.

  • Published: April 2022

    ISBN: 9781770416147

    Dimensions: 5.5 x 8.5 in.

    Pages: 256

← Previous Product Next Product →

Reviews

“A charming mystery, the first in a series featuring Peter Bannerman, an amiable, introverted, tea-drinking, obsessive vet, who converses more with his dog, Pippin, than with his wife, Laura, or anyone else … James Herriot fans will want to check out this one.” — Publishers Weekly

“With Dr. Peter Bannerman, Philipp Schott has created a unique brand of amateur detective, one who is as amiable as he is enigmatic, as inquisitive and old-timey as Sherlock Holmes, yet thoroughly modern, and believes that detective work and veterinary medicine are a perfectly logical pairing. The reader can’t help but be entranced and embraced by Schott’s charming and saucily unusual first book in what should be a long-running series.” — Anthony Bidulka, author of the Russell Quant Mystery series

“So compelling and it is clear that Schott is setting us up for what could be a most satisfying series. Bring on book two!” — First Clue newsletter

“What a breath of fresh air this book is! Funny, charming and original, Fifty-Four Pigs is irresistible and truly unputdownable.” — Kid Ferrous Reviews blog

“It’s impossible to put this book down.” — Seattle Book Mama blog

“It would be a shame if this were a one-off. Peter Bannerman is a character that will bear revisiting.” — Reviewing the Evidence

“Original, well-constructed, with a cast of interesting characters — I hope this isn’t the last we’ll read about Dr. Peter Bannerman and Pippin.” — Ian Hamilton, author of the Ava Lee series

“Meet a very welcome addition to Canada’s fictional crime-busters; amateur sleuth Peter Bannerman, beloved veterinarian and tea connoisseur, with his clever sniffer-dog associate, Pippin. Philipp Schott’s small town Manitoba characters are wonderfully engaging and entertaining, and his writing is almost as Nordic as the town, spare, humorous and gripping by turns. Deadly and delightful, Fifty-Four Pigs is a delicious read with some of the most beautiful descriptions of a prairie winter anywhere.” — Iona Whishaw, author of the Lane Winslow Mystery series

“Filled with twists and turns, Schott’s take on the detective novel is quirky, fun and lighthearted, but also rich in character and worldbuilding.” — The Manitoban

“His writing style is gentle and intelligent, giving readers a chance to step into the thoughts of someone who thinks differently.” — Words & Books & Things blog

“A great sense of place, an interesting set of characters, a good mystery at its core, and a great background in Peter’s veterinary practice.” — Literary Potpourri blog

Fifty-Four Pigs is written with a light touch, delightfully capturing life in a rural prairie town where everyone knows everyone, secrets are hard to keep, and animals are part of the food chain. Except, that is, for the many pet patients doted on by their owners as wholeheartedly as those living in high-rises in the city.” — Oakville News