Book Clubs — Book Club

Bad Ideas Book Club Guide

Posted by Alex Dunn on

Are you part of a book club or are you looking to start one? Bad Ideas by Missy Marston makes a great book club pick! Loosely inspired by Ken “the Crazy Canuck” Carter’s attempt to jump the St. Lawrence River in a rocket car, and set in a 1970s hollowed-out town in eastern Ontario, it paints an indelible portrait of people on the forgotten fringes of life. Wildly funny and wonderfully moving, Bad Ideas is about just that — a string of bad ideas — and the absurdity of love. Book Club Questions Each major character gets to narrate a chapter from...

Read more →


Misconduct of the Heart Book Club Guide

Posted by Alex Dunn on

  Are you part of a book club or are you looking to start one? Misconduct of the Heart makes a great book club pick! Award-winning author Cordelia Strube returns to her unforgettable terrain of the forgotten inner burbs of east Toronto with this scabrous, infinitely humane story of those who work at a small-chain restaurant.   Book Club Questions   Strube’s characters in this novel are all damaged in some way, physically or mentally, yet they are all remarkably resilient. In many ways, Misconduct of the Heart is a hymn to the strength of the ordinary person. Who are your favourite...

Read more →


Honey Book Club Guide

Posted by Alex Dunn on

  Are you part of a book club or are you looking to start one? Honey by Brenda Brooks makes a great book club pick! We have included everything from discussion questions to the perfect cocktails and music to pair with this novel. For readers of Sharp Objects comes a thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice that explores coming of age, desire, and the lengths we’ll go to for love. When 24-year-old Nicole Hewett’s beloved childhood friend, Honey, returns to their small northern town after an unexplained six-year absence, Nicole realizes how her life had stalled without her. But the prodigal...

Read more →


The Subtweet Book Club Guide

Posted by Alex Dunn on

Are you part of a book club or are you looking to start one? The Subtweet by Vivek Shraya makes a great book club pick! A story of female friendship, with a fast-paced plot and a nuanced examination of art, brown culture, social media, call-out culture, the music industry, and sexism. Following two women from the throes of first friend infatuation to a tweet that splits them apart and destroys one career.   Book Club Questions   Neela thinks, “No one listens to a cocksure woman.” How did you respond to her confidence? Do you think you would respond differently if she were a...

Read more →


Moments of Glad Grace Book Club Guide

Posted by Alex Dunn on

Are you part of a book club or are you looking to start one? Moments of Glad Grace by Alison Wearing makes a great book club pick! In this memoir, Alison accompanies her father, in the early stages of Parkinson’s Disease, on a trip to Dublin to indulge his love of genealogy. Through wit and humor, Alison learns to come to terms with her father’s mortality and realizes that it’s the unremarkable moments that are the most important ones.   Book Club Questions   Moments of Glad Grace is a memoir that looks at the ties that bind us to family and...

Read more →

Recent Articles

Categories

  • Book Club