Dirty Sweet: A Mystery

McFetridge, John

  • In the middle of the afternoon on a busy downtown Toronto street a man is shot in the head behind the wheel of his SUV. The killer drives away before the light changes. It could be road rage, or it could be a random act of violence.

    It could be, but it isn’t. What it is, is opportunity. For everyone involved.

    In the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Christopher Brookmyre, Dirty Sweet is a fast-paced crime story following each character to a surprising end.

    “McFetridge is an author to watch. He has a great eye for detail, and Toronto has never looked seedier.” – Globe and Mail

    Dirty Sweet is an amusingly sordid tale that features amusingly sordid people . . . If more people wrote the kind of clean-as-a-whistle, no-fat prose McFetridge does, this reviewer would finish a lot more of their books.” – National Post

    “The dubious fun is in the dialogue and details of a very entertaining and libidinous local debut.” – Toronto Star

  • John McFetridge first became fascinated with crime when attending a murder trial at age 12 with his police officer brother. After studying writing at Concordia University and the Canadian Film Centre, McFetridge worked on film sets before writing screenplays and co-writing the novel, Below the Line. He lives in Toronto with his family.

  • Published: May 2008

    ISBN: 9781550228298

    Dimensions: 6 x 9 in.

    Pages: 360