Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation, The by Steve Stanton, ECW Press

The Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation

Stanton, Steve


    Zakariah Davis and his wife Mia are among those infected with an alien virus that vastly prolongs life, and their blood has become a black-market staple due to its rejuvenating effects. Their teenage son Rix does not carry the Eternal virus, and Zakariah is consumed by the search for an “activated sample” with which to inoculate him.

    Zakariah’s brain has been surgically wired for direct connection to the global computer system where economic activity is conducted by avatars in virtual cyberspace. He gets busted and burned for trying to transport Canadian grain without a permit, and escapes as a fugitive, separated from his family and friends. He is trapped by a power-group known as the Eternal Research Institute, and travels offplanet through a commercial wormhole along with his new business partner and surgical cyber-twin, Helena Sharp, who is seeking the Source of the virus for her own purposes. In the Cromeus colonies, on the other side of time and space, Zakariah will risk everything to give his son Eternal life.

  • Steve Stanton’s short fiction has been published in twelve countries, including translations into Hebrew, Greek, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Czech, and Romanian. His writing regularly appears in Rampike, On Spec, Neo-opsis, Tesseracts, Zymergy, Divine Realms, The Standing Stone, Prairie Journal of Canadian Literature, Poet’s Gallery, BrightRedLife, ChristianWeek, Green’s Magazine, Adventure Magazine, Canadian Writer’s Journal, Mindflights, Pandora, Gateway SF, The Sword Review, Churchyard, Searching Souls, The Obligatory Sin, Christian Communicator, Dragons, Knights and Angels, and Chaos Theory. He currently serves as the vice-president of SF Canada, the bilingual organization of science fiction, fantasy, and horror writers. Stanton lives in Washago, Ontario.

  • Published: September 2010

    ISBN: 9781550229547

    Dimensions: 5.5 x 8.5 in.

    Pages: 264


“Finding innovative science fiction is getting harder and harder . . . Then comes along a series of books from ECW Press called The Bloodlight Chronicles by Steve Stanton and hope for originality in the genre is revived.” — Amazing Stories

“Stylistically streamlined, this vibrant series opener should appeal to fans of Bruce Sterling and William Gibson.” — Library Journal

“This tale should appeal to science fiction readers, especially those who enjoy the virtual worlds and considering where computers and the internet may eventually lead us. Well-written, this volume resolves enough of its plot issues to satisfy, while leaving the door wide open to continue the adventure. Recommended.” — Canadian Review of Materials

“The book is a taut thriller, veering as it does between the real and the virtual, propelled by a central mystery . . . that bears some similarity to both C.S. Lewis's sci-fi apologetic Out of the Silent Planet and Tad Williams's Otherland series. Stanton gets a lot of things right with this book. It's spiritually thoughtful without being pedantic. It moves along very well. He has a great ear for dialogue.” — Faith Today

“Well written, engaging, and provides us with a fascinating blend of cyberpunk and spiritual themes. This is a book that will stay with the reader; it offers us much to think about.” — On Spec Magazine

“Excellent writing, interesting characters and a believable vision of the future.” — Kasma SF